Administration Division

Main Responsibilities Police Administration
The Administrative Division's main responsibility is to provide support services such as Communications, Investigations, Community and School Resource Officer Programs, Animal Control and Records Management. The Administrative Division is made up of both sworn and civilian personnel. This division consists of the:

Department Structure 
Chief of Police:                  Dave Panzer, Jr.
Administrative Captain:    Elton Blemaster
Patrol Captain:                   Derald Gross 

Both captains oversee the day-to-day operations of the Police Department, and provide input to the Chief of Police on budget planning and budget management. The patrol and administrative captains also oversee the recruiting of all open positions within the Police Department.

Chief of Police
The Chief of Police ultimately serves as the commander-in-chief of the Pierre Police Department. In addition, the Chief of Police is responsible for the direct supervision of the administrative and patrol captains.

Administrative Captain
The Administrative Captain serves as commander of the: 

Investigations Section
School Resource Officers:                        Richard Bauman and Kaitlin Holter
Community Resource Officer Program:    Officer Troy Swenson
Animal Control:                                          John Waggoner
Records Section                                        Deb Fahey and Susan LaFave
 Patrol Captain
The Patrol Captain serves as commander of the: 
Officers assigned to the Central South Dakota SWAT Team (CSD SWAT)
Patrol Section
Traffic Team
Reserve Officer Program

The Patrol Captain is responsible for the recruiting of new police officers and reserve offices, as well as the development and coordination of in-service training for all police officers and reserve officers. He also coordinates the development and coordination of all crime prevention and community policing presentations conducted by officers of the Patrol Division.

Return to Police Home Page